La Cabrera – The Steak who killed me – Solo Mission

As my journey through Argentina continues, as does my quest for great steak. On this particular Sunday evening, I met my match; La Cabrera. There are 2, right across the street from each other and we ate at La Cabrera Norte, but both restaurants have the same menu.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-093

Upon arrival we were met with complimentary champagne, samples of chorizo sausage and a line that lasted more than an hour, even at 10:30 pm. It was almost enough to discourage our visit but a bottle of red wine server curbside helped to keep our attention. We were hoping for seating outside on the sidewalk as the weather was spectacular but after an hour + wait, we took the first table offered.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-094

We started with an order of provoleta de queso, a popular appetizer severed at parrillas (steakhouses) in Argentina. It’s grilled cow’s milk, sometimes topped with tomatoes, although not in this case. It’s not unlike the Greek dish, saganaki but with a milder cheese. Along with the provoleta, we order Papas Fritas de Hispanica con huevos. Fresh made, hot potato chips covered with scrambled eggs and spices. It sounds odd but let me confirm, they were amazing.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-097honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-098
honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-100

Then they arrived. 3 wooden long boards with piles of meat unlike anything I have seen before in my life. Our friend Jeremy orderd the grilled chicken, my wife the lomo (filet) and I opted for the churrasco Argentine con pancetta. The display caused a loss of breath.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-102honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-103
honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-106

Each dish came with 6 side dishes, some of which were dipping sauces and for the whole table, an additional 7 sides. I can’t recall them all but there was mushy peas, sweet pearl onions, cooked raisins with apples, roasted red peppers, bernaise sauce, fave beans, rice in creamed cheese, baby German potatos, mashed potatos, mashed pumpkin, sweet sauteed garlic, some kind of eggplant squash and more. It was an overwhelming display of food.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-105

We all plowed into our food with reckless abandon. Bite of this, taste of that, “try mine,” “can I try yours?” – bite-bite-bite-bite-bite.  A pause to come up for air and then back in.  My churrasco had 4 cuts of steak topped with 4 cuts of grilled bacon, all of which was prepared perfectly. I ate and ate and ate and ate and after what seemed like a beef filled eternity, I had to pause again, due to a loss of breath. I had been eating bites of tender steak for well over 30 minutes and there was hardly a dent in my meal.

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

My insides were shaking. My belly about to burst. My taste buds had reached some unknown level of Nirvana. I tried and tried and tried and tried to finish my steak and just could not complete the mission. No amount of inner power strong enough could be mustered up. I had found it,  the first steak that has ever made me cry from pain. This was officially the first time in my life that I was afraid of what beef can do.

I had been defeated by meat – MEATFEATED. I had reached bovine overload – BOVERLOAD.

Then came the dessert menu and placed precariously right at the top, as if they knew, banana flambe. I couldn’t say no and one bite was all it took to confirm its divination.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-109

All this for $142? I love Argentina and their beautiful lollypop trees.

honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-112

Great ambience, decent service, a fantastic and affordable wine list, unbelievable steak and great sides. Truly worth the wait and the visit.

4.5 out of 5 knives
– Rev

P.S. Where can I get one of these plates!??!?
honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-095

4 Responses

  1. […] La Cabrera – The Steak who killed me – Solo Mission By bitpom666 I love Argentina and their beautiful lollypop trees. honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-112. Great ambience, decent service, a fantastic and affordable wine list, unbelievable steak and great sides. Truly worth the wait and the visit. … Steak Club 7 – https://steakclub7.wordpress.com/ […]

  2. BEST STEAK EVER!! I blogged about it myself. You can check it out here..
    http://www.happyhotelier.com/2008/08/16/10-questions-for-1-jennifer-knoepfle-of-better-living-through-travel/

  3. […] La Cabrera – The Steak who killed me – Solo Mission By bitpom666 I love Argentina and their beautiful lollypop trees. honeymoon-buenos-aires-pt2-112. Great ambience, decent service, a fantastic and affordable wine list, unbelievable steak and great sides. Truly worth the wait and the visit. … Steak Club 7 – https://steakclub7.wordpress.com/ […]

  4. […] all of which are from the country itself. Having been to Argentina, allow me to confirm, their love of steak is like none other. If it’s beef you crave, get on your plane and go. Unless you live in NYC, […]

Leave a Reply

